<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:media="http://search.yahoo.com/mrss/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
<channel>
  <title>Album Belgium / Belgique from Martin M. Miles</title>
  <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/album/758846</link>
  <image>
    <url>https://cdn.ipernity.com/p/105/57/EF/323415.buddy.jpg</url>
    <title>Album Belgium / Belgique from Martin M. Miles</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/album/758846</link>
  </image>
  <description></description>
  <pubDate>Wed, 19 Aug 2026 20:01:42 +0000</pubDate>
  <lastBuildDate>Wed, 19 Aug 2026 20:01:42 +0000</lastBuildDate>
  <generator>https://www.ipernity.com</generator>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Saint Quentin</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079170/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-17,doc-53079170</guid>
    <pubDate>Wed, 17 Sep 2025 15:03:21 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T15:24:57+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079170/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/70/53079170.56ec75ee.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="188" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church is mentioned already during the 10th century. It is located at the Grand-Place, where a large Gallo-Roman cemetery was once located. The current building dates from c. 1200. It originally consisted of a nave, a transept and a chancel with four side chapels. The church has however been altered several times. Already in the 13th century, the chancel and the transept arms were vaulted. In the 1460s, the chancel was remade and an ambulatorywas created. This reconstruction, made in a Flamboyant Gothic style. During World War II, the church was heavily damaged by German bombing in 1940. Restoration works continued until 1968.&lt;br /&gt;
The Iconoclasm of Tournai was part of the religious riots in 1566, during which Protestant iconoclasts destroyed churches considered idolatrous. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A scar of the iconoclasm can be seen here.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Saint Quentin</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079170/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/70/53079170.56ec75ee.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="188" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church is mentioned already during the 10th century. It is located at the Grand-Place, where a large Gallo-Roman cemetery was once located. The current building dates from c. 1200. It originally consisted of a nave, a transept and a chancel with four side chapels. The church has however been altered several times. Already in the 13th century, the chancel and the transept arms were vaulted. In the 1460s, the chancel was remade and an ambulatorywas created. This reconstruction, made in a Flamboyant Gothic style. During World War II, the church was heavily damaged by German bombing in 1940. Restoration works continued until 1968.&lt;br /&gt;
The Iconoclasm of Tournai was part of the religious riots in 1566, during which Protestant iconoclasts destroyed churches considered idolatrous. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A scar of the iconoclasm can be seen here.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/70/53079170.56ec75ee.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="437" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/70/53079170.56ec75ee.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="188"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/70/53079170.56ec75ee.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="78"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Saint Quentin</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079164/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-17,doc-53079164</guid>
    <pubDate>Wed, 17 Sep 2025 14:52:56 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T15:24:20+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079164/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/64/53079164.0de6ec23.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="200" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church is mentioned already during the 10th century. It is located at the Grand-Place, where a large Gallo-Roman cemetery was once located. The current building dates from c. 1200. It originally consisted of a nave, a transept and a chancel with four side chapels. The church has however been altered several times. Already in the 13th century, the chancel and the transept arms were vaulted. In the 1460s, the chancel was remade and an ambulatorywas created. This reconstruction, made in a Flamboyant Gothic style. During World War II, the church was heavily damaged by German bombing in 1940. Restoration works continued until 1968.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Saint Quentin</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079164/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/64/53079164.0de6ec23.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="200" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church is mentioned already during the 10th century. It is located at the Grand-Place, where a large Gallo-Roman cemetery was once located. The current building dates from c. 1200. It originally consisted of a nave, a transept and a chancel with four side chapels. The church has however been altered several times. Already in the 13th century, the chancel and the transept arms were vaulted. In the 1460s, the chancel was remade and an ambulatorywas created. This reconstruction, made in a Flamboyant Gothic style. During World War II, the church was heavily damaged by German bombing in 1940. Restoration works continued until 1968.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/64/53079164.0de6ec23.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="465" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/64/53079164.0de6ec23.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="200"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/64/53079164.0de6ec23.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="83"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Saint Quentin</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079154/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-17,doc-53079154</guid>
    <pubDate>Wed, 17 Sep 2025 14:42:31 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T15:22:45+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079154/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/54/53079154.c0b07e06.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="163" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church is mentioned already during the 10th century. It is located at the Grand-Place, where a large Gallo-Roman cemetery was once located. The current building dates from c. 1200. It originally consisted of a nave, a transept and a chancel with four side chapels. The church has however been altered several times. Already in the 13th century, the chancel and the transept arms were vaulted. In the 1460s, the chancel was remade and an ambulatorywas created. This reconstruction, made in a Flamboyant Gothic style. During World War II, the church was heavily damaged by German bombing in 1940. Restoration works continued until 1968.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Saint Quentin</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079154/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/54/53079154.c0b07e06.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="163" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church is mentioned already during the 10th century. It is located at the Grand-Place, where a large Gallo-Roman cemetery was once located. The current building dates from c. 1200. It originally consisted of a nave, a transept and a chancel with four side chapels. The church has however been altered several times. Already in the 13th century, the chancel and the transept arms were vaulted. In the 1460s, the chancel was remade and an ambulatorywas created. This reconstruction, made in a Flamboyant Gothic style. During World War II, the church was heavily damaged by German bombing in 1940. Restoration works continued until 1968.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/54/53079154.c0b07e06.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="381" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/54/53079154.c0b07e06.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="163"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/91/54/53079154.c0b07e06.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="68"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079080/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-17,doc-53079080</guid>
    <pubDate>Wed, 17 Sep 2025 12:17:17 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-30T15:27:20+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079080/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/90/80/53079080.43a683f3.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="157" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Seen to the right is the belfry, erected in 1188, it is  72m high.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53079080/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/90/80/53079080.43a683f3.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="157" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Seen to the right is the belfry, erected in 1188, it is  72m high.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/90/80/53079080.43a683f3.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="365" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/90/80/53079080.43a683f3.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="157"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/90/80/53079080.43a683f3.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="66"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53078504/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-16,doc-53078504</guid>
    <pubDate>Tue, 16 Sep 2025 19:55:55 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:50:41+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53078504/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/85/04/53078504.59dcc331.240.jpg?r2" width="237" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Thirteen works of art were stolen during an armed robbery at the cathedral in February 2008. The total value of the loot is estimated at 40 million euros. Nevertheless, there is still much to discover in the treasury.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A fragment of the original Romanesque portal, which was replaced by the current Gothic portal.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53078504/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/85/04/53078504.59dcc331.240.jpg?r2" width="237" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Thirteen works of art were stolen during an armed robbery at the cathedral in February 2008. The total value of the loot is estimated at 40 million euros. Nevertheless, there is still much to discover in the treasury.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A fragment of the original Romanesque portal, which was replaced by the current Gothic portal.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/85/04/53078504.59dcc331.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="552" height="560" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/85/04/53078504.59dcc331.240.jpg?r2" width="237" height="240"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/85/04/53078504.59dcc331.100.jpg?r2" width="99" height="100"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076902/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-14,doc-53076902</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 14 Sep 2025 19:36:49 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:21:02+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076902/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/69/02/53076902.368c4bd4.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="189" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076902/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/69/02/53076902.368c4bd4.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="189" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/69/02/53076902.368c4bd4.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="441" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/69/02/53076902.368c4bd4.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="189"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/69/02/53076902.368c4bd4.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="79"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076866/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-14,doc-53076866</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 14 Sep 2025 18:53:49 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:12:29+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076866/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/68/66/53076866.e36ecaa5.240.jpg?r2" width="160" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076866/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/68/66/53076866.e36ecaa5.240.jpg?r2" width="160" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/68/66/53076866.e36ecaa5.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="374" height="560" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/68/66/53076866.e36ecaa5.240.jpg?r2" width="160" height="240"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/68/66/53076866.e36ecaa5.100.jpg?r2" width="67" height="100"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076746/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-14,doc-53076746</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 14 Sep 2025 15:36:39 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T17:36:39+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076746/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/46/53076746.6098eee9.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="67" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The narthex protected the elaborately designed Gothic façade from wind and weather for centuries&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
These details depicts everyday life in a medieval city de&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076746/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/46/53076746.6098eee9.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="67" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The narthex protected the elaborately designed Gothic façade from wind and weather for centuries&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
These details depicts everyday life in a medieval city de&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/46/53076746.6098eee9.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="157" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/46/53076746.6098eee9.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="67"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/46/53076746.6098eee9.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="28"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076728/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-14,doc-53076728</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 14 Sep 2025 15:06:20 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T15:09:25+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076728/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/28/53076728.cef7c1c5.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="198" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The narthex protected the elaborately designed Gothic façade from wind and weather for centuries&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076728/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/28/53076728.cef7c1c5.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="198" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The narthex protected the elaborately designed Gothic façade from wind and weather for centuries&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/28/53076728.cef7c1c5.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="462" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/28/53076728.cef7c1c5.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="198"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/67/28/53076728.cef7c1c5.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="83"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076680/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-14,doc-53076680</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 14 Sep 2025 14:01:06 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T15:07:42+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076680/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/66/80/53076680.d900bd91.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="190" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Cathédrale Notre-Dame</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076680/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/66/80/53076680.d900bd91.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="190" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Tournai Cathedral  of Notre Dame is the seat of the Diocese of Tournai. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
In 1146, by order of Pope Eugene III, the Diocese of Tournai was established by splitting off from the Diocese of Noyon. The present cathedral was already under construction at that time. The transept was not vaulted until the beginning of the 13th century, followed by the construction of the crossing tower and the four flanking towers. The crossing has a Romanesque triforium above the transepts, but is already covered with a Gothic ribbed vault. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Under Bishop Walter de Marvis, the Romanesque choir was replaced in 1243 by the present, larger, High Gothic choir, which was consecrated in 1255. At the beginning of the 14th century, the west façade, which had no towers except for two delicate round turrets, received its Gothic vestibule, and by 1325, two more side chapels had been built in the Gothic style.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/66/80/53076680.d900bd91.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="442" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/66/80/53076680.d900bd91.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="190"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/66/80/53076680.d900bd91.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="79"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Tournai - Scheldt</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076248/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-13,doc-53076248</guid>
    <pubDate>Sat, 13 Sep 2025 22:37:03 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:01:24+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076248/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/62/48/53076248.005f42d2.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="177" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Tournai - Scheldt</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53076248/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/62/48/53076248.005f42d2.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="177" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Tournai lies on the site of the Roman Turnacum and is, after Tongeren, the oldest city in Belgium. This was the site of a ford on the Scheldt River, where the connection between Boulogne-sur-Mer and Cologne, which had been expanded into a fortified Roman road, crossed the Scheldt. The Roman camp was plundered by the Franks and Chauci, but survived until 406, when the Vandals attacked and destroyed it.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city became a Merovingian seat of power in the mid-5th century, from which King Childeric I also operated. In 486, Clovis moved the center of power to Paris. In 862, Charles the Bald, first king of Western Francia and still to become Holy Roman Emperor, would make Tournai the seat of the County of Flanders.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
 The city participated in 11th-century rise of towns in the Low Countries, with a woollen cloth industry, which made it attractive to merchants. The commune's drive for independence from the local counts succeeded in 1187, and the city was henceforth directly subordinated to the French Crown. During the 15th century, the city became an important supplier of tapestry. It was captured in 1513 by Henry VIII of England and was handed back to French rule in 1519.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/62/48/53076248.005f42d2.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="412" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/62/48/53076248.005f42d2.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="177"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/62/48/53076248.005f42d2.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="74"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53070230/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-07,doc-53070230</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 07 Sep 2025 20:13:50 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:42:23+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53070230/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/02/30/53070230.b9f30498.240.jpg?r2" width="115" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The choir&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53070230/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/02/30/53070230.b9f30498.240.jpg?r2" width="115" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The choir&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/02/30/53070230.b9f30498.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="267" height="560" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/02/30/53070230.b9f30498.240.jpg?r2" width="115" height="240"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/02/30/53070230.b9f30498.100.jpg?r2" width="48" height="100"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069960/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-07,doc-53069960</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 07 Sep 2025 16:08:15 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:36:54+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069960/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/60/53069960.fbe596e1.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="96" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Siege of Ypres&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The painting by Joris Liebaert from 1657 is on display in the Saint Martin's Cathedral of Ypres. It is 2m x 5m.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city of Ghent rebelled in September 1379 against its count Louis of Male, who supported France against England in the Hundred Years' War, which was against the economic interests of Flanders. After their defeat at the Battle of Roosebeke in November 1382, the citizens of Ghent requested English assistance, and the English sent a force under Henry le Despenser, the Bishop of Norwich.The siege of Ypres wa part of this "Norwich Crusade"  the &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The siege occurred between 8 June and 8 August 1383 as part of  the "Norwich Crusade". It was conducted by English forces and forces from Ghent. The siege was a failure.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069960/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/60/53069960.fbe596e1.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="96" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The Siege of Ypres&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The painting by Joris Liebaert from 1657 is on display in the Saint Martin's Cathedral of Ypres. It is 2m x 5m.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The city of Ghent rebelled in September 1379 against its count Louis of Male, who supported France against England in the Hundred Years' War, which was against the economic interests of Flanders. After their defeat at the Battle of Roosebeke in November 1382, the citizens of Ghent requested English assistance, and the English sent a force under Henry le Despenser, the Bishop of Norwich.The siege of Ypres wa part of this "Norwich Crusade"  the &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The siege occurred between 8 June and 8 August 1383 as part of  the "Norwich Crusade". It was conducted by English forces and forces from Ghent. The siege was a failure.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/60/53069960.fbe596e1.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="223" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/60/53069960.fbe596e1.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="96"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/60/53069960.fbe596e1.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="40"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069934/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-07,doc-53069934</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 07 Sep 2025 15:34:16 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:33:29+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069934/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/34/53069934.41694dda.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="214" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069934/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/34/53069934.41694dda.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="214" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/34/53069934.41694dda.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="499" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/34/53069934.41694dda.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="214"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/34/53069934.41694dda.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="89"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069928/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-07,doc-53069928</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 07 Sep 2025 15:18:40 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:27:33+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069928/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/28/53069928.893e1077.240.jpg?r2" width="236" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Ypres - Sint-Maartenskathedraal</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069928/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/28/53069928.893e1077.240.jpg?r2" width="236" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Construction of St. Martin started in 1230, and was finished in 1370. There had previously been a Romanesque church in the area, dating from the 10th or 11th century. Ypres was originally part of the Diocese of Terwaan (today Thérouanne), which had been established in the 8th century. In 1553 Charles V besieged the city of Thérouanne, then a French enclave in the Holy Roman Empire, in revenge for a defeat by the French at Metz. After he captured the city he razed it. In 1557, as a result of the war damage to its see, the diocese was abolished. This led to a reform of sees and the bishopric of Thérouanne was split between the Diocese of Saint-Omer, the diocese of Boulogne and the Diocese of Ypres. With this, Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral status, as it became the see of the new diocese.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
After the Concordat of 1801 between Napoleon and Pope Pius VII,  Ypres was incorporated into the diocese of Ghent,  Saint Martin's lost its status as a cathedral. As with many former cathedrals, it is often still referred to as a cathedral by locals.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
It was heavily damaged during the First World War. Subsequently (1922–1930) the ruin was cleared and the church was entirely rebuilt following the original plans.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/28/53069928.893e1077.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="550" height="560" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/28/53069928.893e1077.240.jpg?r2" width="236" height="240"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/99/28/53069928.893e1077.100.jpg?r2" width="99" height="100"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Ypres - Lakenhalle</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069796/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-07,doc-53069796</guid>
    <pubDate>Sun, 07 Sep 2025 11:38:46 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T13:38:46+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069796/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/97/96/53069796.0a75d57d.240.jpg?r2" width="191" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
The "Lakenhalle" (cloth hall) is a large, Gothic building complex originally dating  back to the 13th century. The foundation stone is said to have been laid around 1200 by the Count of Flanders, and its construction lasted until 1304. It was one of the largest commercial buildings of the Middle Ages, when it served as the main market and warehouse for the city's prosperous cloth industry. At 125 metres in breadth, with a 70 metres high belfry tower, it recalls the importance and wealth of the medieval trade city.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On November 4, 1914, a German general had the medieval Lakenhalle reduced to rubble and ashes without any military reason. Reconstructions started in the early 1920s. It was opted for a faithful and rigorous restitution of the building. The current hall is therefore largely an exact replica of the medieval building as it existed before the war. However, some parts of the monument are still original, notably in the western part and at the base of the belfry. Most of the reusable old elements found in the ruins and the rubble were reintegrated into the monument, and they served as a model for the missing elements. Reconstruction work ended in 1967.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Today the "In Flanders Fields Museum", dedicated to the history of the Great War, is housed here. The Renaissance annex, the  "Nieuwerck",  added 1619 - 1622 now serves as the town hall.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Ypres - Lakenhalle</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069796/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/97/96/53069796.0a75d57d.240.jpg?r2" width="191" height="240" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
The "Lakenhalle" (cloth hall) is a large, Gothic building complex originally dating  back to the 13th century. The foundation stone is said to have been laid around 1200 by the Count of Flanders, and its construction lasted until 1304. It was one of the largest commercial buildings of the Middle Ages, when it served as the main market and warehouse for the city's prosperous cloth industry. At 125 metres in breadth, with a 70 metres high belfry tower, it recalls the importance and wealth of the medieval trade city.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On November 4, 1914, a German general had the medieval Lakenhalle reduced to rubble and ashes without any military reason. Reconstructions started in the early 1920s. It was opted for a faithful and rigorous restitution of the building. The current hall is therefore largely an exact replica of the medieval building as it existed before the war. However, some parts of the monument are still original, notably in the western part and at the base of the belfry. Most of the reusable old elements found in the ruins and the rubble were reintegrated into the monument, and they served as a model for the missing elements. Reconstruction work ended in 1967.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Today the "In Flanders Fields Museum", dedicated to the history of the Great War, is housed here. The Renaissance annex, the  "Nieuwerck",  added 1619 - 1622 now serves as the town hall.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/97/96/53069796.0a75d57d.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="444" height="560" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/97/96/53069796.0a75d57d.240.jpg?r2" width="191" height="240"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/97/96/53069796.0a75d57d.100.jpg?r2" width="80" height="100"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Ypres - Lakenhalle</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069588/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-06,doc-53069588</guid>
    <pubDate>Sat, 06 Sep 2025 21:15:27 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:55:37+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069588/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/95/88/53069588.437675c8.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="146" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
The "Lakenhalle" (cloth hall) is a large, Gothic building complex originally dating  back to the 13th century. The foundation stone is said to have been laid around 1200 by the Count of Flanders, and its construction lasted until 1304. It was one of the largest commercial buildings of the Middle Ages, when it served as the main market and warehouse for the city's prosperous cloth industry. At 125 metres in breadth, with a 70 metres high belfry tower, it recalls the importance and wealth of the medieval trade city.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On November 4, 1914, a German general had the medieval Lakenhalle reduced to rubble and ashes without any military reason. Reconstructions started in the early 1920s. It was oped &lt;br /&gt;
for a faithful and rigorous restitution of the building. The current hall is therefore largely an exact replica of the medieval building as it existed before the war. However, some parts of the monument are still original, notably in the western part and at the base of the belfry. Most of the reusable old elements found in the ruins and the rubble were reintegrated into the monument, and they served as a model for the missing elements. Reconstruction work ended in 1967.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Today the "In Flanders Fields Museum", dedicated to the history of the Great War, is housed here. The Renaissance annex, the  "Nieuwerck",  added 1619 - 1622 now serves as the town hall.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Ypres - Lakenhalle</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53069588/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/95/88/53069588.437675c8.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="146" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Baldwin II the Bald, Margrave of Flanders, fortified Ypres to defend against the Normans with th early 10th century. During the Middle Ages, Ypres was a prosperous Flemish city with a population of 40,000 in 1200 AD, renowned for its linen trade with England, which was mentioned in the Canterbury Tales. Textiles from Ypres could be found in the markets of Novgorod in Kievan Rus' in the early 12th century. In 1241, a major fire ruined much of the old city. During the Norwich Crusade, led by the English bishop Henry le Despenser, Ypres was besieged in 1383, until French relief forces arrived. Ypres became the seat of the new Diocese of Ypres in 1561, and Saint Martin's Church was elevated to cathedral. In 1678, Ypres was conquered by the forces of Louis XIV of France. It remained French and Vauban constructed his typical fortifications. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Ypres occupied a strategic position during the First World War. The neutrality of Belgium, established by the First Treaty of London, brought the British Empire into the war. The Germans surrounded the city on three sides, bombarding it throughout much of the war. To counterattack, British, French, and allied forces made costly advances into the German lines on the surrounding hills. In the First Battle of Ypres (November 1914), the Allies captured the town from the Germans. The Germans´ use of poison gas for the first time in April 1915 marked the beginning of the Second Battle of Ypres. They captured high ground east of the town. Mustard gas, also called Yperite from the name of this town, was also used for the first time near Ypres, in the autumn of 1917. After the war, Winston Churchill proposed to leave Ypres in ruins as a mausoleum,.&lt;br /&gt;
The "Lakenhalle" (cloth hall) is a large, Gothic building complex originally dating  back to the 13th century. The foundation stone is said to have been laid around 1200 by the Count of Flanders, and its construction lasted until 1304. It was one of the largest commercial buildings of the Middle Ages, when it served as the main market and warehouse for the city's prosperous cloth industry. At 125 metres in breadth, with a 70 metres high belfry tower, it recalls the importance and wealth of the medieval trade city.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
On November 4, 1914, a German general had the medieval Lakenhalle reduced to rubble and ashes without any military reason. Reconstructions started in the early 1920s. It was oped &lt;br /&gt;
for a faithful and rigorous restitution of the building. The current hall is therefore largely an exact replica of the medieval building as it existed before the war. However, some parts of the monument are still original, notably in the western part and at the base of the belfry. Most of the reusable old elements found in the ruins and the rubble were reintegrated into the monument, and they served as a model for the missing elements. Reconstruction work ended in 1967.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Today the "In Flanders Fields Museum", dedicated to the history of the Great War, is housed here. The Renaissance annex, the  "Nieuwerck",  added 1619 - 1622 now serves as the town hall.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/95/88/53069588.437675c8.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="340" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/95/88/53069588.437675c8.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="146"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/95/88/53069588.437675c8.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="61"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Torhout - Wassalon Helder</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53068730/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-05,doc-53068730</guid>
    <pubDate>Fri, 05 Sep 2025 15:35:23 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:19:29+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53068730/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/87/30/53068730.66e1e74b.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="176" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;When I was younger and still hiking during the summer months, I spent hours many in such laundries. I like the smell of the clean textiles.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Wash, Dry &amp; Go&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Torhout - Wassalon Helder</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53068730/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/87/30/53068730.66e1e74b.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="176" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;When I was younger and still hiking during the summer months, I spent hours many in such laundries. I like the smell of the clean textiles.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
Wash, Dry &amp; Go&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/87/30/53068730.66e1e74b.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="411" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/87/30/53068730.66e1e74b.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="176"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/87/30/53068730.66e1e74b.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="74"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Torhout - Sint-Pietersbandenkerk</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53068488/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-05,doc-53068488</guid>
    <pubDate>Fri, 05 Sep 2025 10:21:32 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:31:16+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53068488/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/84/88/53068488.c1341e1f.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="184" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Torhout is considered one of the oldest cities in Flanders, having existed as early as the 2nd century AD.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A Carolingian central church had been built here in the 9th century. In the 11th and 12th centuries the central building was replaced by a three-aisled Romanesque cruciform church with a monumental west tower. The tower dates from the late 12th century. &lt;br /&gt;
The church was severely damaged during the religious wars of the 16th century. In 1624, it was rebuilt in the Gothic style, with the exception of the Romanesque tower. In 1695, the church was looted by French troops. In 1816, the church had to be closed due to danger of collapse. Repairs took place between 1818 and 1823. Two naves were subsequently added to the church. At the end of the First World War, the German army dynamited the tower. It was rebuilt in 1923. In 1940, the church burned down completely after a German bombing raid. The tower, renovated in 1923, was restored, and the remaining structure was replaced by a Romanesque Revival church. Construction was completed in 1954.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The vending machine filled with candles is likely a very recent addition. I have seen such machines on graveyards. but never before inside a church.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Torhout - Sint-Pietersbandenkerk</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53068488/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/84/88/53068488.c1341e1f.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="184" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Torhout is considered one of the oldest cities in Flanders, having existed as early as the 2nd century AD.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A Carolingian central church had been built here in the 9th century. In the 11th and 12th centuries the central building was replaced by a three-aisled Romanesque cruciform church with a monumental west tower. The tower dates from the late 12th century. &lt;br /&gt;
The church was severely damaged during the religious wars of the 16th century. In 1624, it was rebuilt in the Gothic style, with the exception of the Romanesque tower. In 1695, the church was looted by French troops. In 1816, the church had to be closed due to danger of collapse. Repairs took place between 1818 and 1823. Two naves were subsequently added to the church. At the end of the First World War, the German army dynamited the tower. It was rebuilt in 1923. In 1940, the church burned down completely after a German bombing raid. The tower, renovated in 1923, was restored, and the remaining structure was replaced by a Romanesque Revival church. Construction was completed in 1954.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The vending machine filled with candles is likely a very recent addition. I have seen such machines on graveyards. but never before inside a church.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/84/88/53068488.c1341e1f.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="428" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/84/88/53068488.c1341e1f.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="184"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/84/88/53068488.c1341e1f.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="77"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
  <item>
    <title>Torhout - Sint-Pietersbandenkerk</title>
    <link>https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53067986/in/album/758846</link>
    <guid isPermaLink="false">tag:ipernity.com,2025-09-04,doc-53067986</guid>
    <pubDate>Thu, 04 Sep 2025 21:00:49 +0000</pubDate>
    <dc:date.created>2025-06-01T14:31:34+02:00</dc:date.created>
    <author>nobody@ipernity.com (Martin M. Miles)</author>
    <description>&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53067986/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/79/86/53067986.9776c963.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="196" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Torhout is considered one of the oldest cities in Flanders, having existed as early as the 2nd century AD.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A Carolingian central church had been built here in the 9th century. In the 11th and 12th centuries the central building was replaced by a three-aisled Romanesque cruciform church with a monumental west tower. The tower dates from the late 12th century. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church was badly damaged in the religious wars of the 16th century. In 1624 it was rebuilt in the Gothic style except for the Romanesque tower. In 1695 the church was plundered by French troops. In 1782 the interior of the church was remodeled in the Baroque style. In 1816 the church had to be closed because it was in danger of collapsing. Repairs took place between 1818 and 1823. The church was then extended by two naves. At the end of the First World War the tower was blown up by the German army. It was rebuilt in 1923. In 1940, the church burned down completely after a German firebombing raid. The tower, renovated in 1923, was restored, and the remaining structure was replaced by a neo-Romanesque church. Construction was completed in 1954.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
    <media:title>Torhout - Sint-Pietersbandenkerk</media:title>
    <media:text type="html">&lt;p class="who"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/home/323415"&gt;Martin M. Miles&lt;/a&gt; has posted:&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p class="preview"&gt;&lt;a href="https://www.ipernity.com/doc/323415/53067986/in/album/758846"&gt;&lt;img src="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/79/86/53067986.9776c963.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="196" alt=""/&gt;&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div class="description"&gt;Torhout is considered one of the oldest cities in Flanders, having existed as early as the 2nd century AD.&lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
A Carolingian central church had been built here in the 9th century. In the 11th and 12th centuries the central building was replaced by a three-aisled Romanesque cruciform church with a monumental west tower. The tower dates from the late 12th century. &lt;br /&gt;
&lt;br /&gt;
The church was badly damaged in the religious wars of the 16th century. In 1624 it was rebuilt in the Gothic style except for the Romanesque tower. In 1695 the church was plundered by French troops. In 1782 the interior of the church was remodeled in the Baroque style. In 1816 the church had to be closed because it was in danger of collapsing. Repairs took place between 1818 and 1823. The church was then extended by two naves. At the end of the First World War the tower was blown up by the German army. It was rebuilt in 1923. In 1940, the church burned down completely after a German firebombing raid. The tower, renovated in 1923, was restored, and the remaining structure was replaced by a neo-Romanesque church. Construction was completed in 1954.&lt;/div&gt;</media:text>
    <media:content url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/79/86/53067986.9776c963.560.jpg?r2" type="image/jpeg" width="560" height="456" duration="0" isDefault="true"  />
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/79/86/53067986.9776c963.240.jpg?r2" width="240" height="196"/>
    <media:thumbnail url="https://cdn.ipernity.com/200/79/86/53067986.9776c963.100.jpg?r2" width="100" height="82"/>
    <media:credit role="author">Martin M. Miles</media:credit>
  </item>
</channel>
</rss>